Francis Convent, the second domicile of the Sisters, was dedicated in October
1899. Countless homeless men knocked on its door for food and drank from
its well. The convent contains Mother Lurana's suite of rooms (she died
here) and the Heritage Room, replete with items from her life.
Our Lady of the Angels Chapel, named after the tiny one in Assisi, which
St. Francis made the official chapel of the Friars Minor, occupies the first
floor of the convent. Featuring a rood screen and a bell tower rope that
dangles in the sanctuary, the chapel boasts a stained glass window honoring
St. Gregory the Great, from whom Gregorian Chant gets its name. In the sanctuary
stands the very first statue of Our Lady of the Atonement installed at Graymoor.
The chapel was the scene of Father Paul's investiture in the Franciscan
habit, Mother Lurana's profession of vows, the first Church Unity Octave
observance and the reception of the Society of the Atonement into the Roman